Fearlessness

Posted: March 14, 2009 in Uncategorized

I was browsing through one of my favorite fair trade sites the other day, and I found a necklace that was engraved on one side in sanskrit and the other side in English with the word, “Fearlessness.” I got to thinking that, I’ve come a very long way in the last several years, and I’ve arrived at a place in my life where I’m finally ready to approach it without the burden of fearing what the other guy thinks or what may happen if….

It’s a liberating place.

My mom is the ultimate model in fearlessness. I remember thinking, when we lived in that apartment and I was 5 or 6, how brave she was to be battling the mouse that got in our kitchen drawer, or the huge spider that rested ominously on the bathroom ceiling. My mom knows no fear, or at least she doesn’t show it. She faces the bear-size raccoons that boldly stare her down on her own back porch, confronts everyone she meets upfront and honestly without bias or backing down, speaks her mind to anyone who cares to listen, and shrugs off people that otherwise might be considered worrisome as not worth her time.

My mom is a rock.

My mom is also a worrier, as she will readily admit, but what mother is not? And burdening one’s self with concern and anxiety over whether or not a son or daughter is over an illness is far different from standing up and facing the world without flinching.

My mother doesn’t flinch.

I’m excited about this new-found notion of approaching the world with a sense of fearlessness. I’ll join my mother, and her mother, in being truly authenic with who I am, and let everybody else worry about how they’re going to handle it.

Leave a Reply

