Scarlett O’Hara Syndrome

Posted: March 16, 2009 in Uncategorized

“Well, fiddle-dee-dee. I’ll think about it tomorrow.” Procrastination. My mom and I always kid about my intense need and tendency to put things off until later, but lately, it’s become a huge issue for me. Well, ok…not just lately. I’ve had issues with it on-and-off for several years, but it hasn’t been until the last couple of months that I’ve actually felt compelled to do something about it. As an aside, in talking with my brother a few weeks ago, I was interested to hear that he was struggling with the same thing. Hm…maybe it’s genetic.

People who procrastinate run a wide spectrum, from those who occasionally put off starting that home decorating project they have been meaning to get to for the past 3 years, to those who don’t take out the garbage, clean, feed the dog, eat, and are always late for work. I’m somewhere in the middle, and I have improved a bit in the last few years. I have a cat, and I feel a great deal of responsibility for her welfare, so she gets her food and water regulary, and her kitty litter box is always kept clean and fresh. But until recently, it was hard to find a place to sit in my apartment, old computers that I meant to recycle sat for probably a year waiting to be taken just a few miles to the recycling center, and bills piled up on a regular basis, unpaid and cluttering whatever empty space happened to be available.

It takes self-discipline to overcome procrastination, and today my bills are paid on time, the computers have been recycled, and my apartment is clean enough for guests. But I’m realizing I didn’t do it as a matter of self-respect; I did it for the happiness and pleasure of another. I’m actually ok with that right now, because I can feel the self-respect growing. It’s a good feeling.

Leave a Reply

