The Perception of Beauty

Posted: March 20, 2009 in Uncategorized

Let me be perfectly clear about something upfront. I think that anyone who presumes to know what I should be wearing or how I should be made up is an arrogant asshole. I allow one person and one person only to give input about my personal appearance, and he and I have an understanding. He knows and considers how I feel, and I happily accept his decisions. (It works, don’t bother to try and figure it out).

But my general belief is that clothing does not a person make. In fact, if anything, the clothes and accessories a person chooses to wear actually hide the real person inside. And, while in some cases it may help to be dressed a certain way in order to portray a certain role, it’s not always necessary. For example, to be a hooker, you’d probably get more and better-paying clients if you were dressed in heels, a shortshort skirt, revealing top, and lots of make-up as opposed to a pair of sweats and running shoes. Also, to seal an international business deal, you might be more successful if you were dressed in a suit and tie than if you showed up in raggedy jeans and a torn t-shirt. But in both cases, the clothing is less about the person than about the perception of the person. Someone who sells sex for a living can do it without the clothes and the make-up, and a good businessman can close a deal in his underwear if he needs to.

Somebody once asked me what kind of world we’d have if we didn’t have all the cosmetic products and beauty magazines, etc…. And I’m thinking that what we’d have is a level playing field. A world that focused more on the important issues and less on the superficial crap. A society that didn’t divide its members into pretty and ugly, beautiful and hideous. A society that, instead of striving for superficial beauty, recognized the beauty and potential within each and every one of its people. A society that didn’t discriminate and bully and mutiliate to reach some illusory perfection.

I dress for comfort. If you don’t like the way I dress, then that’s your problem, not mine.

Leave a Reply

