The Insurance Issue, Again

Posted: November 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

It was in March of last year that I became increasingly aware of the outrageously high cost of prescription drugs, even for those of us on health insurance (see March 9, 2009 entry).  Then, for a 30 day supply of my anti-convulsant, it was $965.oo.  I didn’t realize how lucky I had it.

Now, 19 months later, that cost has risen to $1500.00 for that same 30 day supply.  The terms of the insurance are the same: the deductible is $3000, and prescription payments have to be made up front.  Although there is a generic available, my neurologist pointed out that generic anti-convulsants are typically not as effective as the brand name drug and, since my seizures have been very difficult to control, he does not want to switch me to an  inferior product.

I have “just” $3000.00 to  find; what of those who have no insurance that must pay for their medicine every month?  Well, as it turns out, if I didn’t have insurance, there would be several prescription assistance programs available to me that would cover the cost of the medicine completely.  It certainly provides a clearer perspective of those folks who prefer to live without the “benefit” of insurance.  For those with few medical problems, relying on the free or low cost medical care that is available through assistance programs and clinics likely seems vastly more practical than the high cost of insurance, which comes with its own requirements and conditions.

Leave a Reply

